Gerry Douglas

Living , Modern




1950 -

Gerry Douglas, a principal in the company, became Chief Engineer and Vice President of Catalina Yachts in the early 1980’s. He has since designed and supervised production of every boat in the Catalina Yachts line, from sailing dinghies to the Catalina 50. Over the course of his four-decade long career, Douglas is responsible for putting thousands of sailors and their families in sailboats that are reliable, comfortable, safe and beautiful. In all, Gerry’s designs or Catalina Yachts have won 16 marine industry Boat of the Year awards (see below). The Catalina 275 Sport won the 2014 Cruising World Boat of the Year Award for Best Pocket Cruiser and Sailing World 2014 Boat of the Year Award for Best Recreational Racer.

Gerry’s resolute commitment to excellence ensures that all Catalina yachts are built to the industry’s most rigorous standards. Additionally, he developed construction techniques that have become widely adopted by the production sailboat industry. He was the irst American sailboat builder to adopt CCE certification, and his designs (30’ or more) are all built to CE category A standards. As chairman of the American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC) he was instrumental in the NMMA’s industry-wide adoption of ABYC construction and safety standards for the yacht certification program.

Gerry has been a partner in this privately owned company for two decades. He has served on the board and as chairman of the ABYC, is a member of the Industrial Designers Society of America, and the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers.

Recently Gerry was awarded the crimson blazer for his enthusiastic support and tireless work on behalf of the premier match racing event, The Congressional Cup. The matched Cataline 37’s, owned by the Long Beach Sailing Foundation, were designed by Gerry and donated by Catalina Yachts.

Gerry actively cruises and races his own boats. His many volunteer activities include his work as a presenter at Safety at Sea seminars and his active support of junior sailing programs on both coasts.

Accomplishments and Honors:

16 Marine Industry Boat of the Year Awards for Gerry Douglas Designs:

  • 2019 Catalina 545
  • 2014 Catalina 275 Sport
  • 2013 Catalina 315
  • 2012 Catalina 385
  • 2011 Catalina 355
  • 2010 Catalina 445
  • 2009 Catalina 375
  • 2007 Catalina 309
  • 2005 Catalina 440
  • 2001 Catalina 390
  • 1999 Catalina 310
  • 1997 Catalina 380
  • 1996 Catalina 28 Mark II
  • 1195 Catalina 36 Mark II
  • 1994 Catalina 270


A partial list of boats designed by Gerry Douglas, 1985 – 2019


Capri 18

Capri 37

Catalina 270

Catalina 275 Sport

Catalina 28

Catalina 28 MKII

Catalina 42 MKII

Catalina 30 MKII
Catalina 309

Catalina 310

Catalina 315

Catalina 320

Catalina 320 MKII

Catalina 350

Catalina 36 MKII

Catalina 375

Catalina 380

Catalina 385

Catalina 387

Catalina 390

Catalina 400 MKII

Catalina 445

Catalina 470

Catalina Morgan 440

Morgan 381 (Catalina


[searchandfilter id="7549"]

Preserving America’s Sailing Legacy

Engaging Sailing’s Next Generation

Stay Connected to the National Sailing Hall of Fame