Living , Modern




Bruce Kenneth Farr, OBE (born 1949 in Auckland, New Zealand), is a designer of racing and cruising yachts. His company, Farr Yacht Design, Ltd., located in Annapolis, Maryland, is widely acknowledged as one of the top racing yacht design teams in the world based upon one of the most extensive and impressive records of winning yacht racing results ever compiled by a single design group.

Farr’s long‐running record of achievement dates back more than 25 years and includes 40 World Championships won in Farr designs and a multitude of design successes at internationally prestigious grand prix yachting events such as the Volvo Ocean Race (formerly the Whitbread Round the World Race), America’s Cup, Vendee Globe, Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, Barcelona World Race, Transat Jacques Vabre, Copa del Rey and many others.

Boats designed by Farr Yacht Design competed in every Whitbread Round the World Race after 1981 and won the 1986, 1990, 1994 and 1998 races. The first Bruce Farr yacht in the Whitbread Race was the Farr-designed Ceramco New Zealand, which competed in the 1980 Whitbread Race and won the Sydney to Hobart the same year. Farr’s design proved exceedingly fast, and Ceramco would have won the Round the World Race, save for an unfortunate dismasting on the first leg, which was a trans-Atlantic crossing. The deltas for the rest of the legs would have put Ceramco 30 hours ahead of her next competitor. This yacht was helmed and captained by New Zealand’s most famous yachtsman, Sir Peter Blake.
Farr Yacht Design has produced over 300 designs, ranging from custom racing yachts to production cruisers to dinghies.

Accomplishments and Honors
• Awarded Order of the British Empire (OBE) from the Queen of England for accomplishments in the yachting industry.

• 1996 – received a prestigious New Zealand Science and Technology Medal in Washington, D.C.

• 2012 – Farr was recognized by the National Marine Historical Society for his world-wide contributions to yachting

• Farr is one of the most successful designers of winners of the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race, having designed 15 overall winners between 1945 and 2003.

Chieftain, a 50 footer that was a collaboration between Cookson Boatworks and Farr, competed in all of the 2006 season Royal Ocean Racing Club races and won class in the Round Ireland, won overall in Round Britain and Ireland Races, was awarded Boat of the Year in Ireland in 2006, and finished as the overall winner of the Rolex Fastnet Race

• Farr is also a designer of America’s Cup competitors, including New Zealand’s entries in 1986 2000, and Larry Ellison’s United States’s BMW Oracle Racing Challenger in 2003 (accepted as Challenger of Record for the 2007 Cup).

• Farr’s design Young America (USA-36) proved faster than the other American sailed yachts, but was unsuccessful in defending the Cup in the 1995 Finals

•His production designs (mass-produced as opposed to custom) have been produced by a variety of yacht manufacturers including Cookson Boats, Carroll Marine, Beneteau, Concordia, Baltic and Nauta.

•Some of the larger cruising luxury yachts Farr has designed include Mirabella, Philanderer, Sojana and the two Southern Wind-built 100 footers: Farewell and Farandwide.

  • Filter Nominees

  • Reset

Preserving America’s Sailing Legacy

Engaging Sailing’s Next Generation

Stay Connected to the National Sailing Hall of Fame